We’re all nuts!

Hello everyone!

It’s very interesting when you think about it. When comparing a cashew to an almond, a brazil nut to a walnut, or even a hazelnut to a pecan, you may find tiny similarities but they are each special in their own ways. All have the potential to become a giant life-force in the world, but uniquely so.

The same idea is true when it comes to all of us. We all have tiny similarities but are individuals unto ourselves. Just like we can’t expect the cashew to be like an almond, nor can we expect ourselves to be like anyone else.

Could you imagine a cashew wining to an almond I wish I was tall and sweet like you or an almond complaining Cashew you’re so creamy and smooth, I wish I had your curves? It’s absolutely ludicrous isn’t it! So why do we do this with ourselves and others, comparing and wishing, ultimately beating ourselves up. It’s just as ludicrous, but somehow slipped through the cracks to become socially acceptable.

What if we all committed to stop comparing ourselves to others, good and bad. What a grateful place this would be. Instead of thinking I wish I had her shape it would sound more like I love my body, I am so grateful for it’s physique. Don’t you think you’re day would go so much better and be filled with so much gratitude if it started and ended with this?

Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

In the spirit of all things nut, I’ve been getting creative with my favorite little protein. And all though I love them as they are, I wanted to get creative with them and give you all a recipe that could get nuts about nuts.

Oh and did I mention, there’s TONS of research out there showing those who incorporated more nuts and seeds into their diets were able to maintain a healthy weight.

Just sayin’…

Raw Caesar Dressing:

1/3 c. cashews – soaked for at least 1 hour

1 – 2 cloves garlic (start with one and taste as you go)

1/2 tsp dijon mustard

1 tbsp Braggs Liquid Aminos

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/3 – 1/2 c. water

1 pitted date or 1/2 tsp raw agave

1 tsp each – dried oregano, rosemary, & basil (feel free to start with 1/2 tsp and add more to taste)

Throw everything into a food processor or high powered blender and process until thick and creamy. Start slowly with the water, only adding as much as needed to the desired consistency.

Toss the dressing with mixed greens, kalamata olives, mushrooms, tomatoes and homemade croutons and you have a dinner salad that would please any Greek. 🙂

I imagine this dressing tastes good on just about everything: shmeered on toast and topped with tomatoes, basil, and nutritional yeast, dolloped on a pile of roasted root vegetables, coated on a boot… just kidding, but it is pretty darned tasty if I do say so myself.

While you’re enjoying this recipe, remember that we’re all nuts and just as a cashew in not an almond, you and I are unique and special.

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

Leave a Reply

