Raw Chocolate Coconut Truffles.

I guess old man winter isn’t quite ready to say so long to us yet. But I guess I should play nice, he wasn’t so mean to us this year. No snow (yet) and not horrible temperatures, I really should be jumping for joy. He just keeps covering up the sun making it really hard to want to get out of bed and play!

Lucky for me, “playing” means making a mess in the kitchen, which is exactly what I did for my birthday afternoon.

I wanted to make some raw desserts to have for my birthday and to just have around the house when my sugar-free tooth strikes. The Train has so graciously ordered me 2 more pounds of raw cacao nibs after I downed my first pound so I did a little research on raw cacao dessert recipes. After finding none that tricked my fancy I did what I do best, play.

Care-free and worry-free, I took out my favorite ingredients in my cupboard (maca, mesquet, raw agave, coconut oil, chia seeds) and had a good little meditation session with them all to see which ones spoke to me.

The cacao nibs, coconut oil, and raw agave spoke the loudest and this is what came of it…

Raw Chocolate Coconut Truffles

1/2 + 1/4 cup raw cacao nibs (or 1/2 cup raw cocoa powder + 1/4 c raw cacao nibs)

1/4 cup coconut oil – melted

1/3 cup raw agave syrup

Start by processing 1/2 cup of the cacao nibs in a clean coffee grinder. A food processor may work for this, but it will take longer to get the nibs to a fine powder.

Meanwhile, slowly melt the coconut oil of low heat. Once melted, remove from heat and add the processed cacao or raw cocoa powder. Stir together. Add the nibs and the agave and stir to combine.

Place in the fridge for at least 1 hour, then remove and let come to room temperature. Using a teaspoon, scoop out the chocolate and with clean hands, roll into small balls.

Enjoy them as is or place back in the fridge to become more firm.

Oops! One didn’t make it 🙂

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

3 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Coconut Truffles.

Leave a Reply

