Second Annual February-In-The-Raw!

I’m starting my February project a little early. I figured it’s Monday, it’s two days away from February, so I might as well get on with it at the beginning of a fresh new week rather than in the middle.

Remember last year’s February Project? I call it February-In-The-Raw and it is a complete month of nothing but delicious and highly nutritious raw vegan food.

So here’s the scoop, February-In-The-Raw is the project that I was inspired to do after enjoying three glowing and (mostly) peaceful months pre-move-to-midwest. This project is going to consist of 28 days of a raw vegan – but none the less delicious – diet. Why a raw vegan diet? I hope after the 28 days – if you’ll please join me on this quest – you’ll appreciate why.

What does this all mean? Why raw foods? (Find the final recap here!)

Raw foods are a living source of nutrients. A raw vegan diet consists of nutritionally-dense living organic uncooked and unprocessed foods to optimize health and alkalizing the body. Cooking food kills it, destroying many of it nutrients. Some forms of cooking, lightly steaming or boiling, damages the food but does not render it completely devoid. However, many raw foodist believe heating food over 118 degrees  kills the food, destroys the enzymes within it and changes the structure of the cells which create a toxic harmful substance. At the rate our elimination system works, eating cooked foods is consuming acidic toxins faster than your body can eliminate them, disrupting the acid/alkaline balance causing a range of problems from cancers and diseases to excess weight and psychological disorders. In thought, it is as if one would be eating rotten apples. The fruit is dead, void of nutrients and is harmful to the body, ultimately causing you to be ill. Same is the thought of cooked food.

This year’s February-In-The-Raw I decided to kick it up a bit. Not only am I going raw for the month, I’m kick starting the first 7 days on a green juice fast. And I’m completely eliminating sugar.

Talk about TOTAL BODY SHOCK!

Why do I do this seemingly insane project each year and why now am I adding a fast?

According to researching, fasting is an excellent method for cleansing your entire system. The fasting process begins after day two or three when the body goes into autolysis, the process whereby the body is digesting its own dead and dying cells. In the body’s wisdom, it selectively decomposes those cells and tissues that are in excess, diseased, damaged, aged, or dead. This allows for an improved ratio of healthy cells in the body.

Green Juice Fasting Why Juice Fast? Juice fasting is a form of fasting in which organic, living-food juice supplies enzymes and living micro-nutrients that further aid the cleansing process. In comparison to water fasting, there also tends to be fewer healing crises or depletion of energy. Since juices are high in minerals, vitamins and enzymes, which help with the rejuvenating process of the body, the juices are assimilated directly into the body without stimulating digestive enzymes.The alkalinizing properties of juices help to neutralize acidic conditions (from which many people suffer) and the toxins being released by the body. The alkaline component of the juices helps to reestablish the alkaline reserve needed for rebuilding health. With juice fasting, most people experience increased energy since the body is given a well-deserved rest from the work of digesting the complicated varieties of foods and beverages often consumed daily.

And a few personal reasons are to take a step back from my life; gain clarity and an objective perspective on some aspects of my life, with my new knowledge that my possible imbalanced thyroid, I have chosen to fast to kick off a healthy healing for it!

Along with juice feasting I will be: skin brushing, yoga, and drinking lots of water and herbal teas.

There is always an exception to this year’s project. Each year for Valentine’s Day the Train and I have a very long standing tradition of going to PF Changs for dinner. It’s the one time a year we go and it is tradition. And being that life is also about balance, I will be having cooked food for this meal. I will be back at it though after to finish my project as intended.

So here goes, day one of what will be a great adventure. Today consisted of:

1 juice of 1 beet, 3 large kale leaves, 3 carrots, 1 apples

1 juice of 1 orange, 1 grapefruit, 3 large kale leaves, 1 large carrot

1 juice of 3 celery stalks, 1 apple, 3 carrots, 1/2 lemon

1 juice of 1 head romaine lettuce, 1 orange, 1/2 lemon, 1 carrot

1 coconut water

75 minutes of yoga

I felt pretty crappy and pretty tired all day. And now it’s 8:30 and I feel like I need to close my eyes to call it a day. Detoxing has officially begun.

I’ll keep you all posted day-by-day for the complete month. I hope you’ll join me!

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

2 thoughts on “Second Annual February-In-The-Raw!

  1. Pingback: 2nd Annual February-In-The-Ray, 1st ever Juice Cleanse | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

