A Week of Green Smoothies & a Breakfast for Dinner Recipe

Hey everyone and happy weekend!

If you’ve been following the past few posts you’ll have read about my Green Smoothie Movement (if you haven’t, check out here and here to get updated).

I’ve gotten quite some questions about my Green Movement, so I want to take a moment to answer a few:

– The smoothies do have roughly 400 – 500 calories per smoothie. They are meant to be a meal replacement and thus need to have this many calories. I have learned the very hard way that by not giving my body enough calories, the opposite of what I want to occur happens (i.e. I actually gain weight versus losing or maintaining). I’m not so much concerned about the calories as I am the nutritional density of my smoothies. If they are more caloric dense I find that I don’t need as much, I’m not hungry between meals, and I just feel better. Do not fear the calories so long as they are full of nutrients. I repeat DO NOT FEAR THE CALORIES!

– I don’t always add a powder supplement, it really just depends on my mood and craving. Often times my body craves that very earthy flavor from the greens and banana, other times it wants a little something extra from the supplement flavor. I also greatly appreciate what the supplement gives me beyond flavor – added protein & fat, vitamins & minerals, probiotics, and fiber just to name a few.

– If you’re on the market for a supplement, do not be afraid to invest a little back into your health. Lucky for you, I’ve done much of the research for you so that you don’t have to try as many as I have to find the good ones (trust me there are plenty of not good ones). My powders of choice are: Vega and Sun Warrior are my top for flavor and nutrient followed with Raw Meal and Trader Joe’s Hemp Protein, both OK in the flavor department but great as far as nutrients go. I do recommend making the investment if you are thinking about purchasing a supplement.

– Why a smoothie? The theory behind smoothies, or blending food, is that you are breaking down the cell wall making the nutrients more accessible to the body. Rather than your digestive system working hard on breaking your food down, the work has been done for it, and it can spend more time detoxing your body and ridding your system of harmful buildup. Toxins are stored in your fat cells so by drinking smoothies you’re allowing your body to get the nutrients it needs while giving it the chance to get rid nasty toxins and excess weight that may be stored.

– The difference between smoothies and juicing is that with a smoothie the fiber of the plant still remains. With a juice you are separating the fiber from the nutrients that reside within the plant’s cell walls. There is nothing wrong with keeping the fiber, it aids in moving things along (if you know what I mean). Juicing just gives the body a straight shot of nutrients and more time to detox as your digestive system is meant to do.

Any other questions feel free to shoot them my way 🙂

Now that my Green Movement week has ended, I could not think of one way to see it out.

New Years Eve, the Train made me one of my favorite breakfasts ever, chocolate chip pancakes. I think he assumed after me drinking an entire bottle of wine by myself (major oops!) I’d not only need him to make me breakfast, but I’d also need some dense, carby goodness to get me going. Lucky for me, I didn’t have the hangover need for him to make me breakfast, but I surely did appreciate it. Since then, I’ve had pancakes on the brain.

Fluffy Vegan Pancakes

Packed with flavor, these little short cakes are quick and easy. Sometimes when you mix taste and nutrition, the results aren’t always good, but these pancakes are both good and good for you.

1 c. whole wheat flour – use pastry flour to ensure peak fluffiness

1 tbsp Sucanat or brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 pinch nutmeg

1 pinch all spice

1/2 c. water

3/4 – 1 c. almond milk

1 tsp flax-seed (optional)

coconut oil (optional)

In a bowl, stir together flour, sucanat, baking powder, salt and spices.

Next, stir in the water and almond milk. Add in the flax seeds, stir to combine, and set aside.

Heat up a large skillet over medium and coat with either cooking spray, Earth Balance, or coconut oil (I used coconut oil for flavor and nutritional value). Pour 1/4 of a cup of the batter onto the hot surface and cook until bubbles begin to form at the top.

Optional…

Oh no she didn’t… I couldn’t resist adding a few of these little guys to the party.

Flip and brown the other side.

Top with blueberries and banana slices or just the old fashion way with “butter” and syrup. Any way you top it, you just can’t go wrong.

These were just what I needed after a great week of greens and a wonderful weekend spent in my jammies 🙂

Tell me about you.

Be king. Be gentle. Be loving to you. 

4 thoughts on “A Week of Green Smoothies & a Breakfast for Dinner Recipe

  1. Those look so yummy! I am going to have to try those out for the kids. We always do pancakes on Saturdays so I will slip these in and see what everyone thinks. 🙂 My hubby and I are starting our “green movement” tomorrow! I am excited I love the green smoothies so I have talked him into doing it with me for a week.

    • Kayla! I’m so excited for you and the hubs! That’s so awesome that he is totally enrolled in health as you are. Having the support of loved ones is the difference between success and not. Keep me updated, I’d love to hear how your week goes for the both of you! Sending lots of love and support. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Be Lazy Like Me. « Killsession Musings

  3. Pingback: Melon Cake (not a cake; a smoothie!) « Poli's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

