The 2012 Green Jump Start

Hello and Happy New Year!

How has your 2012 resolution been going so far? I would love to hear what you are creating and working on. 

I proclaimed the other day what I am working on for 2012 and as you may have read I am working on a more balanced life. I’m not 100% sure what that means to me yet, but I do know it is something I need to work on. To find out what this balanced life means, I did a little reflecting on where I feel out of balance.

I hate to admit this but the place I’m still out of balance is food. I’m sure I’ve said this before but I’m the “all-or-none” type. I’m either all in or all out, I don’t wait in the middle wondering which side to stand on. I jump in feet first – after researching of course.

Lately, I’ve been all in to indulging myself thinking it was a way of healing. I feared any restriction as an inkling of regression and therefore ate pushed through it. But now I’m on the other end of the spectrum and am determined to find the healthy balance between not too much and just enough. How do I plan to get there? A little Green Smoothie jump-start.

I need to mellow out this hyperdrived (did I just make up a word?) appetite so rather than going on a full-out detox or cleanse, I’m doing things my way – the Green Smoothie way (you don’t need me to lecture yet again on the wonderful power of Green Smoothies, but if you missed previous discussions see here and here). My plan to get myself feeling 107% awesome again is to dive head first into a week of Green Smoothies.

Four to six times a day, I’ll be chugging down these little power-houses. Giving my body the nutrients it needs while allowing my body and mind some rest, each meal and 1 – 2 snacks (more or less if needed) will consist of my beloved Green Smoothie. I’ll be giving my body everything it needs to be healthy and strong while allowing my heart and mind to reconnect.

Here is what each one will roughly look like:

1 c. almond milk

1 – 2 bananas (depending on size) or 1 c frozen fruit (strawberries, blueberries, etc.)

1 bunch of greens (spinach, kale, collard, romaine)

1 scoop Vega Protein Powder

Starting tomorrow, my jump-start for 2012 begins (I didn’t start today because it was the Train’s last day of Holiday Break and wanted to enjoy myself with him)!

I’m motivated and excited for what this year has planned for me. Stay tuned 🙂

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

6 thoughts on “The 2012 Green Jump Start

  1. Day 1 of the 2012 Green Jump Start went great! My 2011 became my healthiest in several years and I am feeling the rewards. Weight loss, able to walk on treadmill without huffing, and down sizes. Plus I feel better than I have in years. Thanks for all your great ideas and recipes.

  2. Pingback: Easy Smoothies | Momcaster

  3. Chels, what do you blend your smoothies in? I only have a blender and food processor- which both are a huge mess and are a pain to clean up. Do you use something easier? I’m considering in investing 🙂

    • I use an Oster blender that has actually, surprisingly been really good. Not my ideal blender, but it was around $50 and totally worth it’s value. Totally agree about the mess thing, the one I have has been pretty easy to maintain. Kitchenaide is another good blender that I looked at, but couldn’t find one that wasn’t an obnoxious color.

      As far as protein powders go, there is a great one that I don’t mind from Trader Joe’s that is a Hemp protein. But as far as investments for protein powder, I look at quality over price. Can’t put a price on feeling lovely, light, and healthy. My faves are Vega, Sun Warrior, or Raw Meal. And, I usually use 1 scoop per “meal” versus the 2 that is a serving – stretch it out a little more.

      Hope this helps Amore 🙂

Leave a Reply

