Battle of the Doshas

I tend to allow myself to feel a little all over the place. Not by intention, it’s not as if I really enjoy feeling scatter-brained, but by allowing my doshas to get out of balance.

What the dosha is she talking about now?!

I talked about this a little before here, but I’ll touch on it again. According to Ayurveda, the holistic method of medicine from India, each of us inherits a unique mix of three mind/body principles which creates our specific mental and physical characteristics. Together these three principles are called, doshas.

The three doshas are knows as Vata, Pitta, and Kapha.

Using the principles of Ayurveda, we are able to identify our mind/body nature and use this understanding to make the most nourishing choices in our lives.

After talking to a few Ayuvedic savvy ladies and doing a little research (told you I’m a true geek) I found which doshas are my most lively, which one is less significant, and how I can create more balance in my life.

According to some online quizzes I found that my basic nature is Pitta with Vata of secondary. Pitta is the principle of transformation represented in our digestion of ideas, sensory experiences, emotions, and food. It is associated with the Fire Element. People with a predominance of Pitta in their nature tend to be muscular, smart, and determined. If balanced, a Pitta is warm, intelligent, and a good leader. If out of balance, Pitta can make us critical, irritable, and aggressive.

Describes me to a T! Especially the out of balance part…

So I’ve been doing some research on how to balance out my Doshas so that I don’t feel like I’m running around constantly. Here is what I found:

Out of balance Pitta leads to irritability, aggravation, and inflammation. Balancing Pitta requires opening up some space during your day so you are not perpetually generating friction. Think soothing and cooling.

Here are some tips I fount to maximize balance and well-being of my out of balanced Doshas:

Body

  • Take a yoga class – it’s non-competitive yet will still give you a great workout
  • Perform a daily self massage with soothing herbal oils
  • Take deep breaths throughout the day
  • Avoid drinking caffeine or alcohol – it fuels the fire
  • Eat your largest meal of the day at lunch and favor cooling foods with a predominance of bitter, sweet, and astringent tastes
  • Drink Soothing Tea
  • Put your full attention on your meals when eating
  • Stay cool

Mind

  • Meditate twice a day to calm the mind and soothe the body
  • Find time each day to unplug and relax
  • Wear soothing fragrances
  • Listen to medium tempo melodies
  • Minimize heavy reading, eating, or watching TV right before bed
  • Diffuse soothing fragrances into your environment
  • Favor cool and soft colors – blues, greens and white
  • Spend time each day communing with nature

The first step I’ve made is creating space in each day to do yoga and meditate (easy, you don’t have to tell me twice to do more yoga). Whether it is for 10 minutes or an hour, I find time to calm my mind and tend to my body. I have been burning incenses throughout the house and a new friend of mind is making me a mix of balancing oils to wear to soothe and relax.

It’s only been a few days, but I can already tell a difference in my temperament. And I am loving the sweet smell of incenses burning throughout the house.

I’m doing more investigation into the Ayruvedic ways of nutrition, which discusses the importance of cooked food and eating certain foods during certain times of the year to maintain balance. Kind of conflicts with my raw ways of living, but I am always willing to try new things and learn.

Are you interested or ever heard of Ayurveda? Does your temperament seem to change with the seasons? 

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

Leave a Reply

