My Love List

I thought I would share a few things I am crushing on lately. Here is what I am loving this week…

Le Love List:

Pumpkin, Butternut Squash, Acorn Squash, any squash, I am loving them all. They are so cozy and full of comfy carbs, I have been adding them to everything. But this you already know 🙂

Ohmagosh this stuff is so good. Pre-vegan days, I looked forward to a few mugs of Egg Nog with my father-in-law (since he is about the only one who will drink it with me) during the holidays. Him and I would sit by the tree, have a bottle of wine, and end the night with a rich smooth dreamy decadent cup of the real deal. Last year, I tried to find a substitute and even tried to make my own, but without luck found nothing to ease my eggNoggin’ (ha get it noggin, egg… ok you get it). Alas, this year I have been saved by Earth Balance’s Organic Soy Nog! It’s not the real deal, but it could rival any Egg Nog light. Oh how excited I am. I’ve already gone through a carton or two. 🙂

I think by now you all know my complete obsession with chai tea. I love to have a glass before bed with steamed almond milk, but I found that the caffeine was keeping me up or not allowing me to sleep well. Thank heavens for Celestial Bengal Spice and Sleepytime Vanilla herbal tea. If you look closely it says the magic words Caffeine Free. Ahhh music to my sleepy ears.

lululemon athletica The Mat. Need I say more?

As if Trader Joe’s could not get any more awesome they just had to come out with this, raw CREAMY unsalted ALMOND BUTTER. The wonderful Train brought this home for me the other day and I haven’t put it down since! Best when shoveled in eaten by spoon, it takes apples, toast, oats, smoothies, anything, to the next level.

I fell prey to the “No Carb” craze back in the day, which ultimately led to fear of all food, so it took some time for me to bring them back into my diet. But thanks to sprouted grains (and all their glory) I was able to take back my love for all things carb and have since ventured into a land that was foreign to me for so long. This Sprouted Grains Sesame bread is by far my favorite of all the Ezekiel 4:9 breads. A must try asap!

A little crooked, but wouldn’t expect anything less in the Train household 🙂

And last but now least these…

Probably the best brownies I have EVER made (I’ve had a few flops lately…) They are deep with cocoa flavor, crispy and a little crumbly, but still super dense and chewy as a good brownie should be. I haven’t stopped eating them!

I’ll let you in on a little secret they’re pretty healthy! What?! A guilt free brownie?! Yes, I have delivered!

The Ultimate Vegan Brownie

Because of the oat flour and banana, these little treats are high in fiber and low in fat. Yes I said it, a healthy delicious brownie. Betty Crocker I send my condolences. 😉

1 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. oat flour (1/2 c. oats processed into flour)

3/4 c. organic cocoa powder

1/2 c. Sucanat (brown sugar will work as well)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 ripe banana

1/4 c. maple syrup

1/2 c. vegetable oil

1/2 – 3/4 c. water

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 c. vegan chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a standing mixer or large bowl, stir together all the dry ingredients.

3. Mix in banana, vanilla and oil. Slowly add water to bring batter together. With a wooden spoon or spatula, stir in chocolate chips.

(look at that batter, ohhh so good! Feel free to nibble, I sure did 😉 )

4. In a pre-greased pan, spread out the batter evenly. Cook for 20 – 25 minutes.

5. *VERY IMPORTANT* – Let the brownies cool fully.

6. Enjoy! Good luck stopping at just one…

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

One thought on “My Love List

  1. I can’t wait to make these brownies! And will be on the lookout for the Soy Nog and going to look for that Sleepytime tea.

Leave a Reply

