1st Ever Live Soul Searching Vegan Food Demo!

Today was such a great day here in SSVegan land! I did my very first ever live cooking demo. It was so exciting to create vegan food before a live viewing audience.

I was actually kind of nervous because I had all eyes on me, so if I messed up I couldn’t just toss it and start fresh. But I think it went exceptionally well, it’s a good thing I’d rehearsed a little (or maybe a lot!).

It is actually more difficult than I imagined to look up and talk to people while you’re trying to cook and watch 3 different pots at the same time. I think I was able to keep the conversation going pretty well though. I even cracked a few jokes in there too. Just wouldn’t be me without one.

Watch out Giada, this Vegan is about to take over the Food Network… 😉

I made four different dishes, but didn’t tell the group that any of it was vegan. I just said it was healthy food options during the holidays to keep you from getting to far off track. It’s fun to play with words and people every once in a while 😉

The first dish I made was my Vegan Cheezy Sauce with noodles. They all could not get enough of it. Everyone asked for seconds which I was thrilled about because I thought it was just me who loved this stuff!

Second I made my favorite Massaged Kale Salad. This one people were pretty apprehensive about. But again, they seemed to enjoy it and demanded that I post the recipe on my blog as soon as possible.

I never want to disappoint…

Massaged Kale Salad

1 bunch of Kale – deveined and torn into bite-size pieces

1 avocado

Juice of 2 lemons

1 tbsp Braggs Liquid Aminos

1 c. shredded carrots

1 bell pepper – diced

Seeds of 1 pomegranate

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

S/P

Start by placing the kale, lemon juice, and avocado into a large bowl. Massage the avocado and juice into the kale. You’ll notice that the kale begins to wilt because the acidity from the lemon juice actually “cooks” the kale making it more tender and palatable.

Add in the pepper, Braggs, seeds, and carrots and massage them into the kale. Season with S/P and sprinkle with nutritional yeast. Toss to coat everything with the nutritional yeast. Serve.

You can play around with this recipe. Add chickpeas, olives, and a little tahini for a greek inspired salad or corn, black beans, cumin, and tomatoes for a mexican flare. But your base will always be the kale, lemon juice, and avocado.

It should keep up to 2 days in the refrigerator in a sealed container.

I also made a Mapled Cous Cous salad with Cherries, Apricots, and Almonds (recipe to come!) and a vegan Pumpkin Pie Pudding that had them all going crazy for chia seeds (this recipe too is to come).

All in all, I’d have to say this was a very successful first for me. Who knows what’ll be next, maybe you’ll see me on TV? 😉

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

 

 

 

One thought on “1st Ever Live Soul Searching Vegan Food Demo!

Leave a Reply

