The Everything Granola Bar

I think I say this every week, but gee does the weekend go by quick. In hopes to make it last a little longer, I stayed in my pajamas all day today. Unfortunately this did not prolong the weekend, but it sure did feel pretty good. 🙂

When I wasn’t lounging around the house soaking up the warm sunshine, I was in the kitchen playing around with some ideas I’d had for a couple of weeks.

I’ve been craving a little something different for my morning meal so I toyed around with the idea of creating more breakfast options. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Green Smoothies but lately I haven’t been feeling as filled up as I want. My days have been starting a lot earlier, so I need something with a little more density to hold me over for 4 to 5 hours. And as much as I try smoothies just don’t do it for me. Plus with the cooler weather, I’ve been craving more carbs and crunch. My solution? Granola.

The Everything Granola Bar

These bars are a little chewy, a little crunchy, and a lot flavor. Pumpkin gives these little treats a sweet softness and a burst of taste. Full of yummy carbs, healthy proteins, and energizing fats, these bars gives you just what you need to keep you going in this colder weather. Play with the ingredients, add your favorite nuts or other dried fruits to make this bar Everything you want it to be. Packs well for a great snack or addition to any meal. Chop it up and add it to your morning smoothie or crumble it up, add some sliced banana, and cover with almond milk for a great morning granola. 

1 c. organic whole-wheat flour

2 c. rolled oats

1/8 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 c. raw sunflower seeds

1/2 c.  raw pumpkin seeds

1/2 c. raisins

1/2 c. cranberries *see notes

1/2 c. coconut flakes

1/4 c. maple syrup

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp flax seeds

1/4 c. tubinado sugar

1/4 c. almond milk

2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

2 tbsp canola oil

2 “eggs” (flax egg or Ener-G egg replacer)

1 c. pumpkin puree

Note: if you are not a fan of raisins or cranberries feel free to add your favorite of dried fruits like apricots, dates, etc.

Preheat over to 325 degrees and line a square 9 x 9 pan with parchment paper or with cooking spray. In a small bowl prepare your “egg” and set aside.

Start by sifting together in a large bowl the flower, oats, baking powder & soda, and the pie spice.

Add the seeds, raisins, cranberries, and coconut flakes.

In a medium bowl mix together the sugar, syrup, oil, “egg”, and pumpkin. I had a hard time not eating the mixture before cooking it. It was so good.

Once everything is well coated and combined, press the mixture into the pan to be roughly 1/2 inch thick. There should be enough of the mixture to do two separate rounds of baking.

I love my Perfect Brownie pan. 🙂

Bake for 20 minutes. The results?

Roughly 20 incredibly tasty bars. Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside, an array of texture from the different seeds and oats, and sweetness from the dried fruit and pumpkin. These bars make me excited for the week, or more like excited for breakfast!

What does your Everything Granola Bar and perfect weekend look like?

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you.

6 thoughts on “The Everything Granola Bar

  1. Hi Chels, I’ve been looking for a good granola recipe lately! I’m going to give this one a try. Sounds and looks good. Thanks!

    • Hey Juli! I hope you like them. The best part about this recipe is you can play around with it. Want walnuts? Add ‘um! Don’t like raisins? Forget them! Let me know what you think. I love your feedback :).

      • Hi again Chels, I finally got around to making the bars today. I changed it up just a bit as I’m not vegan – eggs instead of non-eggs, olive oil instead of canola, honey for all sweeteners, didn’t have coconut, I did sprinkle just a few (very few) mini chocolate chips on the top, etc. They are REALLY good. I think I will increase the oven temp to 350 next time. I didn’t get the crunchy crust but they are still really good. Just what I was looking for. This one’s a keeper. Thanks so
        much!

      • Glad you liked them Juli! These bars are truly a blank canvas for you to create a masterpiece with. Sounds like your masterpiece is super tasty! I might steal your idea of the chocolate chips 🙂

  2. Yea, they really look good. Lets make these on our Girls Weekend! Maybe make a couple different varities. Looking for something that’s great for breakfast and snacks.

Leave a Reply

