Crockpot Curried Coconut Squash Soup

Thank you for the wonderfully warm words and support from my Elevate to Greatness post. Words can not explain how much your love means o me.

As I said, I had been a little under the weather all of next week. I’m not sure how it happened. To be honest I hadn’t been sick for a really long time and it caught me quite by surprise. I didn’t know what to do at first other than complain to the Train how yuky I felt, but once I got off my pitty-pot I did what I do best, cooked.

Nothing brings more comfort than comfort food. Warm, carb-y, dense comfort food which for some means pasta or fried foods but for me it means soups. In particular the creamy, smooth and starch type. And since I got some great feedback that some of you would like to see me warming recipes for the cooling weather, the timing could not have been any more perfect. My suffering brings us all joy. 😉

Crockpot Curried Coconut Squash Soup

Full of nutrients and fiber, this soup not only helps heal the body it helps heal the soul with its rich creamy density. High in antioxidants and healthy fats this soup is swimming with flavor and all the good-for-you things you long for as the weather turns cold. 

1 large butternut squash – peeled and cubed

1 acorn squash – roasted *see notes

1 15 oz can light coconut milk

2 tbsp Earth Balance

2 c. water

1 tbsp tumeric

1 tbsp curry powder

1 tsp cinnamon

Salt *salt along the way and taste as you go

Note: to roast an acorn squash first cut in half from top to bottom. Scoop out the seeds, lay cut side up on a baking pan, and cook at 400 degrees for 20 – 30 minutes. Once roasted, allow it to cool so you can handle it. Remove the skin.

In a crockpot, put the butternut squash, the roasted acorn squash, 1/2 the coconut milk, water, spices, and salt. Cook on medium for 4 – 5 hours.

Using either an immersion blender or a blender, blend together to create a smooth consistency.

Stir in the remaining coconut milk and Earth Balance to create a rich and creamy soup and enjoy!

Tell me about you.

Be gentle. Be kind. Be loving to you. 

One thought on “Crockpot Curried Coconut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

