Weekly Wednesday Cheer: Fall into soups!

I’m glad so many of you enjoy My Pantry post the other day! It sounds like it was very helpful for many of you.

Just like suddenly one day it was summer, it seems as by a click of a switch it was fall. But you won’t hear me complaining about this beautiful and delightful cooler weather. I love the fall. It is without a doubt my favorite season for countless reason: The beautiful array of colors as the leaves change, sweaters and leg warmers (yes! leg warmers!), apple orchards and pumpkin patches, and even more reason to snuggle up on the couch.

Oh, and one more thing I love about fall, the return of rich, soul-warming soups. During the summer months, I put my all time favorite meal on hiatus as to not add warmth to my already over-heated and sweating body. So when I see the first sign of cold weather I head right for the dutch oven and heat her up.

Soups are so versatile and a great way to get more vegetables into your healthy life-style. They are incredibly simple, basically throw everything into one big pot, add some liquid, and cook to desire. And most soups just get better the longer they’re allowed to meld together.

Satisfying and filling, they offer an abundance of nutrients without often times being bursting with calories. And the broth-based soups are even a wonderful way to hydrate being that broth is flavored water (so long as you keep the sodium to a minimal). You can even have “cream-based” soups. Just blend together cashews and a little water to the consistency of cream and add to the soup off the heat. Have your soup and eat it too!

September-In-The-Raw kinda puts a kink in my soup obsession. Not that it can’t be done, but I don’t have all the necessary tools (a nice fancy dehydrator) to make my favorite (note – you can make raw soup in the blender, but I prefer my soups piping hot). But that’s not going to stop me from sharing the recipe with all of you to try. Even though it’s not raw it is so good and good for you it hardly matters.

The Smells of Fall Soup

1 medium butternut squash – peeled & cubed

1 large or 2 medium yams – peeled & cubed

1 large or 2 medium apples (Gala or Fuji work great) – peeled & cubed

1 medium red onion – chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

3 – 4 c. low sodium vegetable broth

1/2 – 1 tbsp Cinnamon – see notes

1 tsp Curry Powder

1/2 tsp Nutmeg

1/2 tsp Cumin

S/P

*note: cinnamon adds warmth and sweetness to the soup which I love but other do not. Start with 1/2 a tbsp and add more to your liking.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

On a baking sheet place the vegetables in a single layer, drizzle olive oil over them and sprinkle with spices. Toss together with your hands to be sure that each side is coated well with oil and spices. Cook for 20 minutes to allow the vegetables to roast slightly.

While the vegetables are roasting, in a dutch oven or large pot begin to heat the broth – start with 3 cups and add more for the thickness you would like your soup to be.

Once the vegetables have roasted, add them to the broth, season with S/P and cook for another 10 minutes.

With an immersion blender, food processor or blender, blend the soup to a smooth creamy consistency. If using a blender or food processor do this is batches as to not overfill and risk any minor food explosions.

Poor into a bowl, top with 1/2 tsp Earth Balance and dried cranberries and enjoy!

(sorry no pictures of this one guys, I didn’t actually make it this week because of September-In-The-Raw but wanted to give you all the chance to enjoy my all-time favorite soup!)

I have a VERY special treat for you all tomorrow so be sure to check in. I’ll give you a tiny hint – it’s a guest post of someone I talk about very often… 😉

Tell me about you.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wednesday Cheer: Fall into soups!

  1. Pingback: Friday Night Flap: Guest Post – The Train has arrived! | Soul Searching Vegan

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie… For breakfast! | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

