Weekly Wednesday Cheer

Hello Everyone!

As you all know I recently begun a new journey with lululemon athletica and it truly has been what dreams are made of. All day long I get to talk to like-minded, health-oriented people and work with probably the neatest people ever. Each day has been like a big healthy party!

During the slower hours in the store I’m able to have a more one-on-one conversation with guests and get on a more personal level. I ask questions about how they like to sweat (yoga? bootcamp? walking?) and then they typically will dive head first into telling me all about their health journey, which I love. Most of them ask what I do and how I stay in shape and fit to which I always reply, “Yoga and veggies.”

This is when I get a she’s totally bullshitting me look and more questions. I tell them about being a high raw vegan and how for the past few years I’ve been practicing yoga, but it wasn’t until recently that I have completely revamped my practice and the way I live my life. I don’t dive too far into the story, but I do tell them how veganism and yoga has totally changed me for the better.

Then I usually get the questions, “So what do you eat?” and, “I don’t want to eat just vegetables.” or my favorite ,”I just can’t give up cheese!”

My big sly grin always get me another one of those looks which I follow-up with what I had eaten for that day: smoothie or chia pudding for breakfast, some sort of salad for lunch, and then whatever I can pack for dinner. I tell them about making vegan patties and other vegan cheer. And then I usually refer them to here so they can try out some of my recipes.

But then I get questions of going raw and challenged to its convenience. “I don’t have time to do all that work,” is the one that I hear the most. But wait, you mean you don’t have the time to take care of yourself and give your body the best quality nutrients? What’s more important than your health? Something along these lines is what I ask them and this is usually what really gets them thinking.

Can one really live a life on raw foods without missing out on nutrients and life? You know I’m never one to back down from a challenge. And it just so happens we are six months from February-In-The-Raw which only means it’s time to face that challenge with another month in the raw! I want to show everyone that being a raw vegan is not boring, is not any more challenging than making Sunday night meat loaf, is truly health and life altering, and of course, that anyone can do it. Which kicks off this week’s Weekly Wednesday Cheer, raw taco filling!

I had originally planned to do raw tacos, but my tacos (romaine lettuce leaves) were a little old so I decided on a taco salad instead.

Raw Taco Filling

1/2 c almonds – dry

1/4 c cashews – dry

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp water

1/4 c. shredded carrots

1 tbsp cumin powder

1 tbsp curry powder

1 tbsp turmeric

pinch salt

Place the almonds and cashew in a blender and blend into a course powder.

Place the nuts into a bowl, add the remaining ingredients and mix well.

Scoop into a romaine leaf for raw tacos or atop a heaping bowl of vegetables. Add some guacamole and you’ve got yourself a fiesta!

So let it begin! Tomorrow starts a month of raw food challenge number two September-In-The-Raw! I hope you all might join me after reading all the great things from February-In-The-Raw.

Tell me about you.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Wednesday Cheer

  1. Chels, Do you think you good upload a “grocery list”. Like a typical list that would help to make a lot of these recipes and make eating vegan “easy”.

    Thanks for all your love! This blog is my weekly pleasure 🙂

  2. Love reading this blog weekly. I get it through your mom. I have yet to go vegan, but your articles infuence me to eat more veggies. I probably only have one meat meal a week. thanks for your insight. I love it!!!

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Flap | Soul Searching Vegan

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday SSVegan – a look back on 1 full year of soul searching. | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

