Weekly Wednesday Cheer – SSVegan Bean & Veggie Patty.

Wow! Thank you for the great suggestions on my big problem! I will definitely being doing a lot more research and development here in le casa de SSVegan. 🙂

I think the Weekly Wednesday Cheer is here to stay. I’ve found I’m excited for Wednesday even more so because I can’t wait to show you some of the things I’ve been playing with in my kitchen. Due to this ridiculous heat wave that seems to have inhibited my cooking abilities, I haven’t done much cooking. Rather, our dinner plates have been piled high with lots of fresh and cooling fruits and vegetables. Hot food plus hot weather just don’t mesh well in my opinion.

The other night I had a big hankering for a thick and satisfying veggie burger patty (my brother informed me it’s not a burger without meat, so I obligingly changed my terminology to patty. love me some JB). But with all the faux meats and store-bought veggie patties on the market, one can never be really sure what they’re buying and ultimately putting in their mouths. So the rule breaker innovator that I am decided to whip up my own. And lucky for you, you all get to cash in on my cravings.

SSVegan Bean and Veggie Patty:

1 15oz can chickpeas – drained & rinsed

1 15oz can white kidney beans – drained & rinsed

1/2 c shredded carrots

1/2 c shredded beets

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp Braggs liquid amines

1/4 c. rolled oats

1 small red pepper – chopped

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp each – cummin, tumeric, & curry powder

generous amount of S/P

Begin by heating a frying pan on medium heat (optional to use cooking spray or olive oil, I used olive oil because I wanted a extra crispy exterior).

In a blender or food processor, combine all the ingredients except the pepper, spices, and garlic. Process until combined, but not a paste. It should be pretty thick with fragments of beans still visible. Place into a large bowl and set aside.

Next, add the chopped peppers and garlic to the blender/food processor and process until it resembles a thin salsa. Add this and the spices to the bowl with the other ingredients and mix well. At this point be sure to taste to make sure your seasonings are correct (my first patch did not have enough salt and was not very flavorful so I adjusted accordingly).

Form into the patty size of your liking. I preferred smaller patties that I could do a number of things with (salads, sliders, wraps), but you could surely do any size you please. The world is your oyster garden.

At this point your frying pan should be good and hot. Cook your patties until the exterior is golden brown.

Once golden brown on both sides serve as you see fit. Atop a heap of fresh from the garden greens and things,

wrapped in a wraw wrap (roasted eggplant, hummus, patty),

or nestled in a soft pillowy bun. Yum. Yum. & Yum.

(Side note – these patties can be eaten just as is without cooking. They are a great for a very high-raw food option. And it was not my intention to make them resemble in any way meat, but with the red from the beets and the orange from the carrots the color is slightly similar)

The Weekly Wednesday Cheer, is all about food. Each Wednesday feature a new and inspiring recipe that I hope you all will try and love. The following Friday we’ll reconvene and see how the cheer (meaning edible material) turned out for you. And of course, ask questions, compare notes, and share stories.

I hope you will all try these patties and enjoy them as much as the Train and I did.

Tell me about you. 

5 thoughts on “Weekly Wednesday Cheer – SSVegan Bean & Veggie Patty.

  1. OMG!! I can’t wait to try this one! I made the version with black beans and they were pretty good. This in an interesting version.

  2. Pingback: Friday Night Flap | Soul Searching Vegan

    • Hi Bryce, I’m going to say roughly 4 bun sized patties. I like the “slidder” size personally making 9 – 10 patties which would probably make 3 – 4 “burger” sized patties. Thanks for the question! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Wednesday Cheer | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

