Weekly Wednesday Cheer #1

Hi and happy Wednesday!

Who doesn’t love food?

I’m going to be starting a few new projects to give the blog a little touch of something. Today I’m launching what I hope to be an every Wednesday event. I’m calling it the Weekly Wednesday Cheer, which will be all about food. Each Wednesday I’m going to be featuring a new and inspiring recipe that I hope you all will try and love. The following Friday we’ll reconvene and see how the cheer (meaning edible material) turned out for you. And of course, ask questions, compare notes, and share stories.

To kick off the first WWC I’m keeping it very basic. I’ve been doing a lot of juicing with my new LOVER Omega Juicer, so I wanted to share some of the libations with you.

Liquid Gold

– 2 handfuls Spinach

– 1 Green apple

– 1/2 Lemon

– 2 -3 stalks of Kale

– 1″ fresh Ginger

The Infusion

– 2 – 3 Carrot

-1 Apple

– 1 handful Spinach

– 1 Beet

– 1″ fresh Ginger

These two have been a big hit in the Train household. Every morning and afternoon snack thus far have been delighted with either one of these or a slight variation. The Train isn’t so keen on kale yet so instead I’ve added another piece of fruit (apple, orange, pear, or more carrots) to keep his tasting on the sweeter side. And surprisingly, beet juice? Not bad, actually it’s rather pleasant. There really is no limit when it comes to juicing (but if you do juice, best remember K.I.S.S. – keep.it.simple.stupid.).

I know not all of you (probably most of you) have a juicer so I wanted to give another recipe for the first ever Weekly Wednesday Cheer.

It’s hot out, there is no denying that. Between sunburns and sweat stains, most of us are trying to do anything to beat the heat. One thing that seems to help is by eating fresh and cooling meals. I know I don’t really want a steamy bowl of soup right now. No thanks pass me the salads! And I’m doing just that.

Garden Palate

½ c. uncooked bulgur

1 can white white kidney beans drained and rinsed

5 – 6 cherry tomatoes halved (SO excited! These came straight from Train Garden 2011)

1 med. Cucumber diced (from le garden de Train)

1 handful fresh basil roughly chopped

2 large carrots diced

1 c. fresh or frozen corn

juice of 1 lemon

1/3 c EV olive oil

1 small handful fresh dill or 1 tbsp dried

S/P

Bring 1 c. of water to a boil and add the bulgur, turning off the heat immediately and covering.

While the bulgur is cooking, prepare the vegetables and toss into large bowl with the remaining ingredients.

Once the bulgur has set for 10 minutes, fluff with a fork, and add to the bowl.

Season with S/P and refrigerate for at least 1/2 an hour.

Serve over a bed of mixed green, homegrown romaine lettuce, or simply by itself.

Simple. Delicious. Cooling. Nutritious. Doesn’t get much better than that.

Let me know what you think or your experience with summer’s freshness in your kitchen. I’d love to hear your questions, comments, concerns.

Tell me about you.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Wednesday Cheer #1

  1. Pingback: Friday Night Flap. | Soul Searching Vegan

  2. Pingback: Soul Searching Vegan

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Flap | Soul Searching Vegan

  4. Pingback: Weekly Wednesday Cheer. | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

