A green follow-up & summer salad.

It looks like our bounty may be greater than what I had anticipated. As of right now, Train Garden 2011 has expanded 4 times over. Unfortunately, we’re still waiting for some real edibles, but I know they’re coming. I just need to be a little more patient. While I’m waiting, I’ll continue to bask at the sight of these…

Look at these little beauties!

And would you have a peek at these.

I’m told these means great things lie ahead.

Oh the things I am going to do when they start to produce.

 I cannot tell you how excited I am that the Train Garden 2011 is doing as well as it is. I got a little worried after realizing I tried a little too hard to cram as much in as I could into a very, very tight space. But as I look upon my sprouted masterpiece, I can look down at my green thumb and say well done C Train, well done. 

In anticipation of everything my hard work is going towards, I treated the Train and I to a fresh salad that, according to him, I need to make at least 2 times a week. Not straight from my garden, this salad is however fresh from a local garden here in KC.

Fresh ‘n Easy Garden Salad – Vegan & Mostly Raw

1 16oz block of extra-firm Tofu (see notes)

1 tsp vegetable oil

2 tbsp Braggs liquid aminos

1 tbsp organic mustard

2 bell peppers

2 broccoli head

1 c. fresh or frozen corn

1 15oz can garbonzo beans drained and rinsed

1 tbsp each – fresh parsley & basil (if you don’t have fresh use 2 tsp of each dried)

2 tsp dried oregano

2 tsp garlic powder (start with 1 tsp and taste before adding second)

Juice of 1 – 2 lemons

3 tbsp organic extra virgin olive oil

Note: to prepare the Tofu, I recommend chopping it into dice sized cubes, freezing it, and then letting it thaw, draining any remaining liquid. This allows the tofu to have a meat-like texture and the ability to really brown and absorb the marinade.

Start by browning the tofu in the vegetable oil. This will take about 5 minutes, constantly stirring to ensure all sides get browned. Once each piece has had a chance to cook, add the Braggs and mustard and stir to coat all the tofu. Remove from heat and set aside.

Cut all the vegetable into bite sized pieces and, if using, chop the fresh herbs and place into a large bowl along with the remaining ingredients. Add the tofu to the vegetables.

In the same pan you browned the tofu, if you are using frozen, warm the corn and the garbonzo beans. If you are using fresh, just toss them into the bowl with the rest of the ingredients.

Toss the mixture with the fresh lemon juice and olive oil making sure everything is equally coated.

And serve.

This salad is great by itself or atop a bed of fresh mixed greens. It would even be great wrapped up in a big romaine leaf or whole grain tortilla. Regardless of how you serve it, this salad will soon become a staple in your summer time repertoire.

 Did you try a garden this year? Tell me about you.

Leave a Reply

