it was hot, it was sweaty, it was even in public…

Today was our first time together. It was amazing. It was hot, it  was sweaty. It was even in public! Oh my gosh, I cannot tell you how good it felt. And all the different positions. At one point my feet were literally over my head!….

I’m talking about Yoga (get your heads out of the gutters). 😉

Today was the first time the Train and I went to a yoga class together. He’s been talking about adding yoga to his workout regimen for a while, but I’d had a hard time convincing him to go with me. Today, after a little coursing I persuaded him to come with me to a free yoga class.

Free Yoga in the Park KC is free yoga class held at the Nelson-Adkins Park here in Kansas City every Sunday afternoon. People of every shape, size, and type are welcome and no formal yoga experience is necessary. That last part is was bought the Train over.

Upon arrival, I could tell he was a little nervous, but once the Train saw all the different people, big, small, little, tall, he warmed up to the idea a little more. Never one to back down from a challenge, once the class started, he was all in. Downward facing dog, Upward facing dog, Warrior I, II, and Reverse, he did them all with minimal complaints restraints. Every now and again he’d ask for a little assistance or I’d offer a little advice on a pose, but all in all he did great for his first time.

I was floating after class. The instructor did great catering to the variety of students. It was challenging enough to present an amazing workout, but not so bad that a beginner like the Train couldn’t master. From head to toe, I could feel each and every muscle had been worked and I was drenched with sweat. The Train even admitted to needing to do that more often because, “…that shit was hard. Not hard like dead-lift hard or eyes bulging out of your head hard. But that was hard that’s for sure…” (I’m sure all of you who know him can picture him saying this. Got to love him 🙂 )

Sunday yoga is now going to be one of our things that we do. It’ll be next to evening walks to get a cookie and late night runs for french fries (most of our things involve food, it’s nice to change it up).

As of now, Summer Goals 2011 are off to a great start. Both Saturday and today, I was able to attend a yoga class. Last night, the Train and I relaxed to the sound of live music at my favorite vegan coffee house. Tonight’s dinner was a homemade Mediterranean Platter with cucumbers, tomatoes, olives, pita bread, and hummus. And I was able to get some work done in the garden with time to spare to do a little research on recipes for vegan treats.

A pretty good weekend I have to admit. A great start to a great week.

Tell me about you.

 

Leave a Reply

