Protein Booster

Pardon the sudden MIA, it’s been quite the mad-house in the Craig (Burns) household the past couple of days. But the good news is we are all moved into our new place! All of our furniture is put together and starting to get arranged in an orderly fashion (I’ll post pictures soon). And our bed arrived this morning. So  needless to say, it has been a (pleasantly) stressful couple of days. We have internet now too, so I’ll be able to write now – I felt so disconnected!

With all the added stress, regardless of the fact that it was eustress (good stress), I recently found a few extra strands of hair in my comb. Nothing too concerning, but it was noticeable each time I combed my hair. I’m sure the sudden shedding is due to the increased level of tension, but to be on the safe side, I’m boosting my protein content for the next few days to see if that helps strengthen my tresses.

Excess hair loss can be due to an array of things, hormonal changes, illnesses, and some medications cause hair loss, but one of the most common is diet and nutrition. Having inadequate amounts of protein and iron can cause hair to shed at an increased speed. Hair is made of protein, so when there isn’t enough in your diet, the supply is prioritized and hair doesn’t rank up there as high as vital organs.

So as to not lose any more of my precious locks, I’m being extra cautious and giving my body what it’s telling me I need. All along I had been planning pizza for our first meal in our home together, but when the body calls, I answer.

Creamy Beans and Things Quinoa:

Overflowing with taste and texture from the beans, quinoa, and the vegetables, this quinoa salad has enough nutrients to meet many of the daily quotas. The creaminess from the hummus and nutritional yeast makes this dish taste so rich, your hair will grow 😉 5 – 6 servings

  • 3/4 c. dried Quinoa (I used white, but red would work well too)
  • 1 tbsp Earth Balance
  • 1 can black beans
  • 2 c. chopped broccoli
  • 1 can corn
  • 1/2 lb button mushrooms – diced
  • 1 c. cherry tomatoes
  • 3 tbsp Basic Hummus
  • 1 tbsp Braggs liquid aminos
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp each – dried thyme, dried basil, dried onion flakes,
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • S/P to taste

Start by preparing the quinoa according to the package (usually a one to one and a quarter liquids ratio). While the quinoa is cooking, in a large frying pan, heat Earth Balance. Once melted add mushrooms, corn, and broccoli, and cook for 5 minutes. Next add the beans, stirring every so often to make sure everything is cooking evenly. Once the beans are warmed through, stir in the cherry tomatoes, hummus, Braggs, nutritional yeast, and all the herbs. It should have a creamy consistency due to the black beans breaking open, the hummus, and nutritional yeast.

Once the quinoa is finished cooking, add it to the vegetables and beans, and stir to combine to coat each grain with the creamy vegetable mixture.

Eat by itself or atop a pile of mixed greens, either way, you can not go wrong.

Are you a good “self-listener?” If so, how do you respond? If not, take 10 minutes to meditate and see if you can hear yourself telling you something.

5 thoughts on “Protein Booster

  1. Pingback: So what do you eat then? « Soul Searching Vegan

  2. Pingback: My Soulful Favorites | Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

