Dinner for two with an old school classic

How on earth can it be March 14th and snowing. And not just snowing, but inches of snow on the ground, in the trees, on my car, on my spirits. Can we please just get some sunshine and 75 degree weather already so that I can get back to enjoying the outdoors again?

To get me out of my frosted funk, I went a little outside the box for dinner. Ever since I went to Cafe Seed with my mom and had their Facon – fake bacon – I have been dreaming sweet dreams of BLTs (or more like FLTs – is that a oximoron?). I went on a mad search for my faux meaty strips and found them at Whole Foods. I was overcome with joy.

I grabbed 2 organic tomatoes, 1 avocado, Ezekiel 4:9 bread, a head of red romaine lettuce, and Vegennaise to create my masterpiece.

Vegan BLT:

Creating a BLT may be trivial to some by any standard, but with a few extra touches, this old school sandwich can be extraordinary. This vegan take on the classic is vamped up to not only be healthy, but far more delicious than its omnivorous cousin.

  • 2 pieces Sprouted Grain Bread
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 medium organic tomato
  • 3 pieces Red romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 tbsp Vegennaise
  • 2 – 3 Faux Bacon
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Start by warming the Facon in the oven for a few minutes, just to warm it through. Along with the Facon, toss in the bread to toast them just slightly, only 3 -5 minutes. While the Facon and bread are warming, take the avocado, garlic powder, S/P, and mash them together with a fork to create a paste like substance that can be spread onto the bread. Slice the tomato into thick slices and tear the romaine leaves into pieces that will fit comfortably on the bread.

After the Facon is warmed and bread lightly toasted, spread the avocado onto one slice and the Vegennaise onto the other. Place the tomatoes on the avocado spread, the Facon on the tomatoes, followed with the lettuce on the Facon.

This is strategically placed to ensure everything stays in the sandwich where it’s supposed to be.

Sandwich the entire thing together with the other piece of bread. Spend a few minutes basking in your delicious creation.

Smile. Devour.

What are the old school classics that you just love?

3 thoughts on “Dinner for two with an old school classic

  1. To me: tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich, good old homemade mac and cheese or peanut butter and grape jelly. All these bring back great memories. Can you help “veganize” these ? And I can’t wait to try that sandwich!!!

  2. Pingback: So what do you eat then? « Soul Searching Vegan

Leave a Reply

