Breaking the dairy addiction

To keep with the informative theme I have going so far, I thought I’d discuss a major issue for those who have thought about veganism, Dairy. I’ve gotten many emails from readers stating they want to go vegan, but just can not live without cheese. They describe it almost as an addiction they have and cannot give up. The thing is, they’re right when they say they are addicted to cheese and other dairy products because that is precisely what it is, addictive, disease causing, and fattening.

Dairy products are said to be essential to life, that we need them to grow, and have to have it for calcium to prevent diseases such as osteoporosis. This multibillion dollar industry has persuaded doctors, the government, and consumers that dairy products are necessary for a healthy diet, three times a day at that too. However, many studies would say otherwise. Research conducted at Harvard, Penn State, Yale, and the National Institute of Healthy have determined the high protein content of dairy to cause calcium to be leached from the body actually causing osteoporosis.  Not only that, but they found dairy to be linked to a host of other health problems including anemia, anxiety, arthritis, acne, ADD, ADHD, IBS, poor immune function, obesity, diabetes, autism, Crohn’s Disease, breast and prostate cancers, and ovarian cancer.

Dairy contains dioxins, one of the most toxic substances found in the world, and when you consume dairy products you are not only consuming this toxins, you are consuming the antibiotics, steroids, and hormones that were forced unto this cow. Some studies have even found radioactive particles in dairy samples and according to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) reported virtually 100% of all cheese products produced in the U.S. has detectable pesticide residue.

As I previously mentioned, cheese is very addictive for many reasons. There have been traces of morphine detected in many samples of cow’s milk. Morphine is highly addictive and is known to cause pulmonary edema, respiratory depression and failure, coma, among many other harmful side-effects. Not only that, all milks, cow or human, contains casein which is a protein that when digested causes the release of opiates (for those of you unsure of what an opiate is, it is a form of narcotic). Cheese has the highest concentration of casein. These “feel good” chemicals are necessary for newborns so they will nurse and ensures a bond between mother and child. This is a natural entity between mother and newborn, but in the case of cow’s milk and human consumption it is unnatural (we are the only mammals that drink another mammal’s milk), but still causes the same “feel good” and almost drug-like effect. Cheese also has phenylethylamine, an amphetamine-like chemical. Thus the reasons for the addiction.

Dairy is meant to grow a 90 lbs calf into a 1,500 lbs cow, and quickly. It is designed to allow a calf to double its weight rapidly and create a sense of fullness in their four stomachs. It has the same fattening effect on humans. And to boot, humans do not possess the enzyme necessary to break down lactate, a form a sugar found in dairy, which creates a whole other slew of problems beyond that of weight gain.

Dairy is fattening and addictive, it can cause diseases, illness, and allergies. It is the perfect thing to eat if you want to be ill and have a diseased-filled life. There are an abundance of alternatives for those of us who choose to do a body good the right way. Earth Balance Natural Spread is a very reputable brand of butter alternatives, Veganaise is a great sandwich spread, Tofutti has an abundance of “ice-creams” and “cheeses” and Follow Your Heart Vegan Gourmet cheeses are all casein free, vegan and very delicious.

My point is, I understand that right now some of you could not imagine a life without cheese, but I hope you will take this information to heart and even try some of these alternative while weaning yourself from dairy products. Just as any detox from any drug, it may be difficult at first, but you may be amazed how wonderful you feel, how that extra 10 lbs seem to melt away with ease, or that you actually can live a life without dairy.

 

*Some of this information was taken from Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman & Kim Barnouin. If you haven’t read this book, you need to, it will change your life.

10 thoughts on “Breaking the dairy addiction

  1. I have thought of veganism quite a bit but I do like cheese, although I don’t eat an abundance of it, low fat cheese sticks, 1% cottage cheese are the most regular items. I have yet to find a replacement for cheese sticks which I love as a snack, also the vegan cheese doesn’t seem to have any redeeming qualities, isn’t there a problem with having too much processed stuff and isn’t vegan cheese heavily processed?

    • Hi Terri!

      Great question. I wonder what your reasons are behind eating cheese. Is it taste? Health reason? What keeps you going back to this dairy product?

      As far as eating heavily processed items, yes it is not healthy to eat a lot of them. This is where veganism gets a bad rap. It should be centered around plant-based whole foods, and with that there are ways to make homemade “cheese” if you find you can not give it up.

      It comes down to this, which is more important your health or your tastebuds?

      Thanks for the questions! Hope this helps 🙂

      CC

  2. Pingback: Vegan Nutrition Sites | VeganasFuck

  3. How do you get a dairy addicted spouse to get help? My husband would lose SO much weight if he would stop with the massive amounts of milk, butter and cheese!

    • Education on the matter is key. It took quite some time for my hubby to make some changes, but it was after persistent educating and simple swaps that he’s made huge changes. It was a gradual phasing out. But start with education (research, documentaries, etc) and this may help. 🙂

  4. Hello from a non-vegan! Hope you don’t mind me posting here; I will try to keep it respectful. I found this post by searching about why dairy is addicting.

    I must say that I love butter. Regrettably, the “best” butter available locally is organic, but pasteurized, butter. (I had the pleasure of working on a biodynamic farm once, and – though this may not be appetizing to most of the readers of this site – raw milk butter, hand made, from a healthy cow, entirely grass-fed that you’ve milked yourself is amazing, and storebought – even organic – does not compare!)

    I find it interesting that I can pick up a piece of cheese (I have one in front of me now) and put it down after a few bites. I do, however, find yogurt somewhat addictive.

    I understand that certain toxins can accumulate in dairy products. At the very least, however, one can *reduce* them – especially those added in the form of hormones, antibiotics, etc., to feedlot cattle, by choosing organic.

    This is one issue I wish to address that I don’t see many vegans mentioning. Often, arguments against dairy from vegans seem to be written in a way that suggests ALL dairy comes from industrially raised cows, which is not the case. (Kind of like the “All that grain we’re feeding cattle could sustain humans instead” argument, which doesn’t seem to take into account that cows aren’t really designed to eat grain (and in my opinion, neither are humans, at least not in the quantities which most of us do), and that some of us will exclusively, or mostly, seek out beef products from purely grassfed cows (which also don’t require all those “additives” like hormones and antibiotics, because they are fed a diet – grass – for which they evolved).

    I digress from that issue. What I really wanted to comment on is the endorsement of vegan cheese alternatives. For example, Earth Balance Spread. Taking a look at the ingredient list, it contains palm oil, canola oil and soybean oil. I do not think that these oils – especially canola and soy – are particularly healthy. I, for the most part, avoid any product containing them.

    Let’s look at Tofutti’s Plain Flavor “Better Than Creamcheese”. Among other ingredients, it contains partially hydrogenated soybean oil, tofu and isolated soybean protein. That’s a lot of soy – including a partially hydrogenated form. Nor does it claim organic or non-GMO, and it’s a nearly sure bet that most conventional soy, if not organic, is GMO. That aside, what about the statements and personal anecdotes which suggest similar issues with soy – especially non-organic and non-fermented soy – like autoimmune problems, hormone disruptions, digestive issues, etc., that you seem to attribute to dairy?

    I’ve seen some pretty nasty sounding labels on vegan meat and cheese alternatives, and am very surprised that such heavily processed, multi-ingredient and soy-heavy – and even wheat gluten, talk about an allergen right there! – products are touted as healthy alternatives. I think that if such lengths must be gone to, to imitate foods with only 1 ingredient (butter, meat, etc.), then the logical choice is merely to eat the “original” product (grassfed beef instead of processed soy deli “meats” with a dozen ingredients), or find something else.

    I appreciate that you mentioned the issue of processed foods giving veganism a bad rap. In my experience, I tend to do best on a diet higher in fat and animal protein. I could certainly increase my vegetable consumption! However, my experience (your mileage may vary) is that it is not fat that causes weight gain (you should see how much butter, yogurt, coconut oil, olive oil and beef I can eat and remain lean and muscular), but legumes and excessive grains (too much of each leave me bloated, heavy or gassy).

    To each their own, I guess – and I should stop here before this veers off into incoherence. Thanks for this interesting post! I’m going to put down the cheese, now!

    Best Regards

  5. Reblogged this on urban-horticulture and commented:
    Since watching Forks over Knives, I have started eating a plant based diet and am feeling great. I haven’t given up seafood or cheese though just yet. I never buy milk anymore since I learned the inhumane treatment of cows udders to obtain the milk. Here is an excellent post about the dairy addiction must of us have. You hear many people saying “I’m addicted to cheese” and there is a scientific reason for this. I suppose ideally I would have my own goats and make my own cheese like Heidi. Check out how she makes her own cheese. http://youtu.be/mCPKRc2Dpqk

  6. Pingback: Dr. Jenna Taylor: Addiction to Cheese is Real Thanks to Casomorphins

  7. Pingback: Dr. Jenna Taylor: Addiction to Cheese is Real Thanks to Casomorphins

Leave a Reply

