Sometimes a short-cut is necessary…

I have been a busy busy bee lately. With trying new recipes, researching health topics, searching for jobs, working and writing, I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed at times. And to be honest, sometimes I just want a night off from cooking, or at least something that does not require me to do much other than throw it together, sit down, and eat.

Days like these I take full advantage of some short-cuts in the kitchens, i.e. store-bought organic marinara. There are a few quality organic brands out there, Trader Joe’s is by far my favorite being that it is not only organic, it’s inexpensive and delicious. However, Trader Joe’s is still in the making here in KC, so I am forced to resort to Wholepaycheck Whole Foods. Fortunately for me (and you) they have the 365 Everyday Value line providing us common folk with organic canned goods and pantry items.

Yum!

Next I resorted to the oven to do some work for me so I could enjoy the couch for a bit. (What’s easier than cooking a spaghetti squash – cut length wise, put in a baking dish cut side down, add an inch of water, and bake 30-40 minutes – easy!)

Thirty minutes later, fork the flesh into “noodles”.

*this picture was taken while the squash was steaming hot, that is why it came out kind of hazy and glowy.

Add 1/2 cup of the marinara, sprinkle a little nutritional yeast, and enjoy a fabulous meal and night off from the kitchen.

Sometimes we all need a little time away from even the things we love most. I love spending time in the kitchen and playing with ingredients, but tonight I enjoyed having someone else do the work for me. Tomorrow I’ll be more than ready to get creative.

What is your go-to kitchen short-cut that you rely on in a pinch or when you’re just not in the mood to cook?

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sometimes a short-cut is necessary…

  1. Thanks for the Foodbuzz request!
    I agree, sometimes shortcuts are necessary. It looks like you made the right choice with 365 brand sauce. I love Whole Foods.
    When I’m in a pinch, I make miso soup (I always have miso, wakame, and peas), or a sweet potato : )

Leave a Reply

