A Vegan show down.

It’s Wednesday, strangely one of my favorite days, for no particular reason either. Usually it’s the day I take off from exercising and the day I allow myself a few extra treats to replenish my body from my long run on the weekend and some good workouts from the beginning of the week. Ah Wednesday. What’s your favorite day of the week?

On a more serious food note, I’m sure you’ve all noticed a lack of recipes lately. This does not come without reason.

Being a vegan/vegetarian is strange to some people. Strange, and intimidating to those who do not understand a life without meat, cheese or eggs. This intimidation causes non-vegans to scrutinize, judge and even poke fun at the vegan lifestyle. They do this because our choice to not eat certain things creates feelings of self-consciousness in the way they eat. Even though we as vegan/vegetarians do not judge others for choosing to eat a onmiforus lifestyle, – we tend to take a more gentle educational approach – vegans face the rath of judgement for the way we eat. All. The. Time.

I know my fellow vegan/vegetarian friends, even those of you who have “dieted” before, can relate to such scrutiny. Most of the time I am able to stay true to my beliefs, remain strong, and let the comments roll off my back. But when they come at me from all angles all times of the day while in the presence of those I live with, it gets a little difficult to not get pissed off angry.

“Are you really eating that? That looks so weird!” or “You can’t eat that it’s not vegan” and even “I could never eat the way you do, that’d be horrible, I don’t know how you do it!” (these are actual comments that I get on a daily basis)

So rather than sticking it to them and making amazingly delicious vegan cuisine to shove in their faces for them to try, I’ve shied away – my tail not fully between my legs – and reverted to eating nutrient dense salads every night. I just can not take the snide remarks any longer from the ones I love. (It’s different when it’s people I barely know, I’ll give it to them vegan style and let them have what’s on my mind)

But as of today, I have decided to take one for the (vegan) team, stand up for my beliefs and get back to making great vegan recipes – some of which I have been dieing to try! So what is on the menu for this week:

Sweet Potato Breakfast Pie

Raw Sprouted Quinoa Salad

Garbonzo Bean Soup

No bake (semi-raw) carob-peanut-butter krispie bites

White vegan chili (I’m planning a chili bake-off!)

A little bit raw, a little bit cooked, a whole lot of delicious.

*And some day I’m going to get to that Tofu Tutorial…

Case and point, I’m going to toughen up and maybe even try to educate (again) those I reside with on the topic of veganism and its many extraordinary health benefits. But I may not waste my breath (again). Either way, I’m ready for some good eats and to play around in the kitchen.

In the meantime, do you have any recipes you’d like me to veganize or raw-ify?


7 thoughts on “A Vegan show down.

  1. I UNDERSTAND YOUR TERMOIL. BUT YOU ARE A VERY STRONG PERSON, THAT I LOOK UP TO. LOOKING FORWARD TO ALL YOUR NEW AND EXCITING RECIPES. YOU ARE MAKING A BELIEVER OUT OF ME. WITH JUST A FEW OF YOUR TIPS, I HAVE LOST WEIGHT, LOOKING BETTER AND FEELING SO MUCH BETTER THAN I HAVE IN, IN YEARS. THANK YOU,

  2. Chelsea the rest of us are listening! I am currently not a vegan/vegetarian but I look forward to the recipes you share. I’ve been toying around with the idea of becoming vegan/vegetarian but have NO support from family or friends since most of them are involved with raising cattle or processing meat… the barriers of not having that support and not knowing how to eat WITHOUT animal products is what holds me back so really, your posts are perfect for where I’m at in my life.

    So thank you for for sharing and even when you may feel scrutinized you have supporters in “blog-land.” Keep em’ coming!!

    • Janelle,
      Thank you for the support and kind words. Looks like we’re in similar water. Do know that it starts with you, if you want to be vegan, you’ll find the strength, you can do it, we’re here for you for such difficult times as these. I’ll email you some other great blogs on veganism as to get you some ideas for some awesome vegan recipes, and I’ll make sure to get my buns in the kitchen too so that I can help too
      Thank you & stay strong 🙂

  3. Pingback: Carob & Almond Fudgy Crisps « Soul Searching Vegan

  4. I have been on the fence for a LONG time. I was a vegetarian for about a year but with family who raise cattle and are very pro eat meat. I caved. I was mad at my-self for a long time. I was wondering if you could maybe post some of the benefits of being vegan. Also I LOVE cheese, are there any alternatives that are good? I am not so sure I totally understand the difference between vegan and vegetarian. I would like to have more information to back up why I am thinking about making such a huge change. I always feel like I have no “evidence” to back up my thoughts about it. I always get the whole “what about protein”, and “that can’t be healthy” comments whenever I talk about it. Anyways if you have any insight that would be fabulous

    • Kayla – I understand completely! Take a look at my FAQ page, there are some answers there, but I will do a better explanation of veganism asap for you – and everyone else interested in transitioning. There are many many alternative “cheeses” for us vegans who like cheese every once in a while – I’ll do a little blurb on cheese and how not good it is for you – not to mention how literally addictive it is. I’ll get on that ASAP for ya! Stay strong and true to your beliefs, it’s hard but you can do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

